(St. Joseph Fishermen Educational Trust) was founded in the year 1985 with the aim of imparting Technical Education to the fisherman community and to the students of the neighbouring rural areas. This institution which crossed its Silver Jubilee year in 2010 began with three branches with an intake of 180 students. Now this Technical Education institution has grown to the extent of having six branches with a remarkable intake of 600 students. The college offers three year Diploma Courses for students who have completed S.S.L.C. & two year Diploma courses for students who have completed Higher Secondary education, in the following disciplines:

  1. CIVIL ENGINEERING                                                                   120 seats
  2. MECHNICAL ENGINEERING                                                      180 seats
  3. AUTOMOBILE ENGINEERING                                                      60 seats
  4. ELECTRICAL & ELECTRONICS ENGINEERING                        120 seats
  6. COMPUTER NETWORKING ENGINEERING                              60 seats

Real Education is that which enables one to stand on one’s own legs.


            St. Xavier’s Polytechnic college was established by Punitha Valanar Meenavar kalvi Arakkattalai in the year 1985. The Tamil Nadu government had given permission to the trust to start this college in the year 1984. The first self finance co-education polytechnic college in Tuticorin district was established with the help and contribution of the Catholic Paravan and Mukkuvar fisherman community.

Initially the college was functioning with three diploma courses.

  1. Civil Engineering
  2. Mechanical Engineering
  3. Electronics & Communication Engineering

Subsequently two more courses were started Computer Engineering in the year 2001 and Electrical & Electronics Engineering in the year 2004.

In 2006 the Directorate of Technical Education has given permission to increase the intake of the mechanical engineering from 60 to 90. Later in 2007 the strength of the mechanical Engineering was increased to 120. A Three year diploma course in “Computer Networking” has been approved in the year 2009 and computer engineering was surrendered. Additional intakes of 60 were allowed to the course in Electrical and Electronics Engineering in 2010. There by the strength has been increased to 120. In 2012 the Diploma in Automobile engineering has been added to the existing courses and an additional intake of 60 more seats in Civil Engineering were permitted. This year 60 more seats were added to the mechanical engineering and the strength has gone to 180. Thus the intake in the first year for all courses is 600.


  1. Shri Joseph Memorial Award:

A Gold coin award for the best out going student.

The award is constituted in memory of the judge Late Shri. Joseph, the former correspondent of St. Xavier’s Polytechnic College, sponsored by Dr. J. Stephen MBBS, Correspondent, St.Xavier’s Polytechnic College.

  1. Shri J. Ponnusamy Villavarayar award:

A Gold Coin award for the best II Year Student. The award is constituted in memory of late. Shri. J. Ponnusamy Villavarayar, One of the founder of the trust sponsored by Thiru. J.P.Joe Villavarayar, Governing body chairman, Punitha Valanar Meenavar Kalvi Arakkattalai.

  1. Allumni Association Awards:

A cash awards of Rs. 500/- each to the best student in each departments.